APhA Election

The APhA Election includes elections for the APhA Board of Trustees – President-elect and two Trustees – and for the leadership of APhA-APPM, APhA-APRS, and the Special Interest Groups (SIGs). The APhA Honorary President is also determined during this election process. The results of these elections are certified by the Committee of Canvassers, which is appointed by the APhA President. Find more information on the election process, eligibility to vote, and candidate information on this page.

All candidate information can be found in the 2021 APhA Voter's Guide. Additional recorded statements from each candidate are available on this webpage for voter reference.

Download the 2021 Voter's Guide

2021 Election Timeline

October 5, 2020 — Application deadline for the 2021 APhA Election cycle
November/December 2020 — Committee on Nominations meets; election slate announced
March 12–15, 2021 — Slated candidates attend APhA2021 in Los Angeles, CA
March 15 – May 3, 2021 — Voting period for 2021 APhA Election
May–June 2021 — APhA Election results announced
March 18–21, 2022 — Successfully elected candidates installed at APhA2022 in San Antonio, TX

Election Process

Slating and introduction of candidates

Candidates for the Board of Trustees are slated by the APhA Committee on Nominations in early December and are introduced to Annual Meeting attendees at the First Session of the APhA House of Delegates. Annual Meeting attendees also have the opportunity to interact with these candidates at caucus events and "Meet the Candidates" sessions.

The APhA–APPM Committee on Nominations is composed of the APhA–APPM President, who serves as the chair of the committee, and the four Immediate Past Presidents of the academy. During years when there is a President-elect of the academy, the President-elect will serve as an ex-officio member of the committee. The APhA–APRS Committee on Nominations is composed of the APhA–APRS President, who serves as chair of the committee, and the three APhA–APRS Section Chairs. The election slates for these two Academies are finalized in December. Annual Meeting attendees have the opportunity to interact with APhA–APPM and APhA–APRS candidates at two "Meet the Candidates" sessions.

All individuals interested in applying to serve on the APhA Board of Trustees are required to review the APhA Conflict of Interest Statement and submit a corresponding Disclosure and Confidentiality Statement to APhA’s Legal Counsel.

Other APhA elections

The leadership of the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA–ASP)—President-elect, Speaker of the House, and Members-at-Large—are elected at the final session of the APhA–ASP House of Delegates, held during the APhA Annual Meeting.

The Speaker-elect of the APhA House of Delegates is elected every even year by the APhA House of Delegates. The Speaker-elect serves until the end of the Annual Meeting following his/her election, at which time he/she is installed as Speaker and serves for two additional years.

*With the exception of those members appointed to serve in the APhA House of Delegates, student pharmacists are not eligible to vote in the APhA Election. Per election guidelines, the list of eligible voters is finalized 30 days prior to the opening of the official voting period. Individuals who join APhA within 30 days of the opening of the official voting period are not eligible to vote in the current election.