H.A.B. Dunning Award

The purpose of the award is to recognize an exemplary contribution to APhA and the practice of pharmacy by a pharmaceutical manufacturer, provider of support products or service, or other entities such as wholesalers or chain corporations. The H.A.B. Dunning Award was established in 1982 to honor the former chair of the Board of Hynson, Westcott, and Dunning of Baltimore, MD, who as a longstanding APhA leader was instrumental in the funding and building of the APhA headquarters building in Washington, DC.

H.A.B Dunning Award recipient: Merck

Submit a nomination for the 2018 H.A.B. Dunning Award

Evaluation criteria 

The nominee for the H.A.B. Dunning Award must have made a contribution or contributions to APhA and the practice of pharmacy in a calendar year preceding the presentation of the award. The contribution(s) shall fall in one or more of the following areas:

• Professional and consumer communications
• Pharmacy practice support
• Pharmacy education support
• Sales policy to pharmacists
• Marketing policies and philosophy
• New drug research and development
• Community service involving pharmacists
• Innovative products and service
The selection criteria will be weighted so that contributions to APhA would be 40% and to contributions to the profession would be 60%. The recipient should have had an impact on the profession nationally through their activities with APhA.
Nomination process
The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination at the following link: Award Nomination Form. The deadline for nominations is September 1. The nomination is to include the following items:
• A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
• Letters of recommendation are optional; two letters are preferred with a maximum of six accepted
Selection process
The selection is made by the APhA Board of Trustees based upon careful review of complete nominations.
Nature of award
The award presented at the APhA Annual Meeting consists of a jade crystal etching on a walnut base bearing the likeness of H.A.B. Dunning.


Past recipients:

2018    Community Pharmacy Foundation

2017    Pfizer Inc. 

2016    Kroger Co. 

2015    CVS Health

2014    Cardinal Health and the Cardinal Health Foundation

2013    The Walgreen Co.

2012    Novartis Vaccines and Diagnostics, Inc.

2011    Cephalon, Inc.

2010    VaxServe, a Sanofi Pasteur Co.

2009    Procter & Gamble

2008    Merck & Co. Inc.

2007    Tyco Healthcare/Mallinckrodt

2006    Johnson & Johnson-Merck Consumer Pharmaceuticals Co. and McNeil Consumer Healthcare

2005    Purdue Pharma, L.P.

2004    GlaxoSmithKline

2003    Pfizer Inc.

2002    Aventis Pharmaceuticals

2001    McNeil Consumer Healthcare

2000    Syncor International Corp.

1999    Wyeth-Ayerst Global Pharmaceuticals

1998    The Knoll Pharmaceutical Co.

1997    Amgen Inc.

1996    Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.

1995    Ciba-Geigy Corp.

1993    Searle

1992    Glaxo, Inc.

1991    Merck Sharp & Dohme

1990    SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals

1989    Eli Lilly & Co.

1988    Marion Laboratories, Inc.

1987    Parke Davis

1986    Hoechst Roussel Pharmaceuticals Inc.

1985    McNeil Pharmaceutical

1984    Lederle Laboratories

<< Return to Main Awards Page