Generation Rx Award Of Excellence

2023 Generation Rx Award of Excellence Recipient

Adriane Irwin, MS, PharmD

Photo of Adriane Irwin, MS, PharmD

Adriane N. Irwin is an Associate Professor (Clinical) with the Oregon State University (OSU) College of Pharmacy, where she also serves as Chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice. Dr. Irwin earned her PharmD degree from the University of New Mexico, and then completed a PGY1 residency at the Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center and a research fellowship in ambulatory care & pharmacy practice-based research at Kaiser Permanente Colorado. Dr. Irwin practiced as an ambulatory care pharmacist in a rural health center for seven years, and then transitioned to Salem Health Hospitals & Clinics, where she provides data analytic support to department initiatives focused on quality and medication safety. Outside of her clinical practice site, Dr. Irwin maintains an active research program focused on opioid safety and improving care for those with substance use disorder. This includes serving as a co-investigator for Respond to Prevent, a study funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) aimed at providing training, resources, and tools to improve the quality and success rate of naloxone offers by community pharmacists and foster engagement in harm reduction. Her work has been funded by multiple organizations, and she has contributed over 50 publications to the peer-reviewed literature.


The GenerationRx Award of Excellence was established in 2011 to recognize a pharmacist who has demonstrated a commitment to the mission of substance abuse education. This award is made possible through a restricted endowment from the Cardinal Health Foundation.

Evaluation Criteria

The nominee must be an APhA pharmacist member. Self-nominations are allowed for this award. Current members of the APhA Award Committee are not eligible. Applications will be evaluated based upon the following criteria (listed alphabetically, not in rank order):

  • Community service
  • Impact on the profession through commitment to prescription drug abuse and misuse education that is targeted to youth, their parents, and older adults
  • Implemented prescription drug abuse and misuse education programs in their practice site and/or community that are informed by evidence-based research
  • Participation in other professional activities

Nomination process

The nominator is responsible for submitting a complete award nomination.

The nomination is to include the following items:

A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award

One letter of recommendation is required (letters from student pharmacists are accepted); a maximum of two additional letters accepted

A current curriculum vitae or detailed résumé

Selection process

The selection is made by an award committee appointed by the APhA Board of Trustees and is based upon careful review of complete nominations and the criteria listed above.

Nature of award

The GenerationRx Award of Excellence, endowed by Cardinal Health Foundation, is presented at the APhA Annual Meeting and consists of a crystal plaque (with the Cardinal logo), a complimentary APhA Annual Meeting registration and reimbursement for meeting-related travel expenses, according to current travel policies and up to the maximum amount budgeted by APhA.

Past recipients

2021 Charles Babcock

2020 Lucas Hill

2019 George Downs

2018 Charles Broussard

2017 Sarah T. Melton

2016 Jeffrey Bratberg

2015 Nathan A. Painter

2014 Leslie Shepard

2013 Anthony Tommasello

2012 Megan E. Thompson


Return to Main Awards Page